Twitter has rolled back a change it made to tackle bullying on the platform, just two hours after rolling it out.
Oh, Twitter. On Monday, the firm tweaked Notifications so that users wouldn't be alerted if added to lists, with Twitter trolls using the feature to abuse or insult its members and harass people that they disagree with.
"We want you to get notifications that matter. Starting today, you won't get notified when you are added to a list," wrote Twitter Safety.
This decision didn't go down well with Twitter users, who accused the social network of "blinding the vulnerable" and "sweeping the problem under the rug."
Users also complained that the blanket ban would limit an otherwise useful feature for connecting with other users.
Less than two hours after the feature first rolled out, Twitter took to, er, Twitter to apologise for the "misstep" and said that the change would be reversed.
We heard your feedback - this was a misstep. We're rolling back the change and we'll keep listening. https://t.co/9ozPS4XlVI— Twitter Safety (@TwitterSafety) February 13, 2017
Last week, Twitter revealed a three-step plan for tackling for the growing number of trolls and abusive comments on the social network. These include enforcing a permanent ban on suspended users, the filtering out of 'abusive and low-quality replies' and a new ‘safe search' feature.
Moves to take down cyber-squatted domains reveals Fancy Bear hacking network, claims Microsoft
Intel claims 'world first' in artificial intelligence that can be plugged-in almost anywhere
Trusts have purchased almost 385,000 new PCs since 2013, at a cost of £260 million
The council will use funds from the project to fund network expansion