Fraudsters scam Icann-accredited registrar

Domain name holders targeted in yet another internet swindle

Dinah Greek

Conmen have hijacked the name of domain registrar Melbourne IT in an attempt to get their hands on renewal payments for domain names.

The fraudsters are targeting holders of global domain names, including those ending in the suffix .com and .biz.

Advertisement

An email that purports to come from Melbourne IT, which is accredited by the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (Icann) and works with more than 700 resellers worldwide, tells customers that their domain names need to be renewed.

But the rogue email incorrectly insists that, no matter which reseller they registered their name through, they must now make their payments online directly to Melbourne IT.

Customers are then directed to a bogus website to enter their credit card details.

The scam first came to light last night when UK-based, Icann-accredited registrar Internetters, one of Melbourne IT's resellers before it was accredited in its own right, was alerted to it by a UK customer.

The rogue email, with the address 'noreply@melbourneit.com.au', states:

"Dear Customer,

"PLEASE NOTE: You may have registered your domain name through a Melbourne IT partner such as Yahoo!, MSN or your other Internet Service Provider. However payment for renewals must be made directly to Melbourne IT.

"Your domain name is due for renewal. If you renew your domain for more than one year you save $35/year for 1 year, $30/year for 2+ years.

"Please submit your payment online."

Ken Sorrie, director of Internetters, told vnunet.com that the unwary could easily be taken in, as the page to which customers are directed looks like an official Melbourne IT web page.

He also said that the page's claims to secure and encrypt data were false.

"[Melbourne IT] is now sending out emails to their resellers and today Internetters will be sending emails to its customers warning them to ignore such emails," Sorrie said, adding that Melbourne IT had also reported the matter to the police.

Melbourne IT confirmed the existence of the hoax email but was unable to comment further when contacted for an update.

  • Have your say
  • Send to a friend
  • Print
  • Digg
  • Reddit
  • Share

Tags:

Do you agree?

Further reading

Icann changes put domain names at risk

Companies must supply full contact details - or else

domain names scams

Don't fall for bogus domain name calls

As more companies fall for aggressive sales tactics, the need for action is growing

Related whitepapers

Related jobs

Most watched

iPhone

Video Review: iPhone 3GS

We put Apple's latest iPhone through its paces

Xperia X1

Video Review: Sony Ericsson Xperia X1

First Looks Editor Ian Williams gets hands on with the Sony Ericsson Xperia X1

IT white papers

Search white papers

Top categories

Poll

Poll: Summer smartphones

Poll: Summer smartphones

Which smartphone will you be taking to the beach this summer?

View poll results

Advertisement

Advertisement

Newsletter signup

Sign up for our range of FREE newsletters:

Existing User

Newsletter user login:

Enter email address to edit your newsletter preferences

Job of the week

Search thousands of IT jobs :

Search thousands of IT jobs:

Advanced search

Hiring now on ComputingCareers:

Related IT jobs

Search thousands of IT jobs :

Search thousands of IT jobs:

Advanced search

Spotlight

Google Chrome

Microsoft has no need to worry about Chrome OS

Redmond may actually welcome the new arrival

Dr Aladdin Ayesh

Is it time for the Turing Test to retire?

It is nearly 60 years since Alan Turing devised a...

Security double standards

Broadband provider Tiscali has launched new figures showing an alarming...

Beach

Top 10 holiday gadgets

A wry look at the must-have beach items for any...

Primary Navigation