23 Aug 2007
Internet monitoring firm Websense has claimed that IT management firm EDB is hosting malicious files on its web page.
EDB handles web hosting and outsourcing for a variety of industry sectors, including banking. Websense has warned that visitors to the site may have been infected.
"Websense Security Labs has discovered that the website of EDB Business Partner has been compromised and infects visitors with malicious code that attempts to drop two files," said the company in a statement.
"Websense customers are prevented from inadvertently visiting this site. Both files dropped are of malicious intent. The first is a World of Warcraft Trojan, and the second is designed to detect antivirus protection."
The malicious code exploits a vulnerability in Internet Explorer that was patched on 11 April this year. The Trojan reports to a site that has been classified as sponsoring malware.
There was no response from EDB at time of publication.
Latest stories from Web
Related articles
Related jobs
Poll
What is the most important IT priority for your company this year?
Preview of the forthcoming handheld projectors with DLP technology
Connect with V3.co.uk
This paper focuses on a series of best practices and techniques for development teams looking to improve their software development processes
Why good data management at all levels is essential in the modern business (video, 6mins)
An ISEB certified Performance Tester with experience...
Junior Application Support Analyst, SQL (Graduate, SQL...
A Principal Consultant for IBM AIX Power 7 Platforms...
A Java Development Team Leader with a good knowledge...
Keep up to date with the latest products, services and technologies from the world's leading IT companies. IThound.com brings you over 2,000 white papers, case studies and analyst reports.
Do you agree?
Be careful of what you post
Posting a link to a site that is still infected is probably not the best idea...
Posted by: Chris 24 Aug 2007